A collection

OH HEY

Thanks for coming to this page, despite knowing what was coming (stick people with no hands).

You may or may not know that this week is, allegedly, Mental Health Awareness Week. Quite why this week is the week to be aware above all others I don’t know, but it seemed like as good a time as any to regroup a little and channel some thoughts into something vaguely resembling creativity.

This time I don’t have a particular theme or narrative. Here are simply some awful doodles centering on living with mental illness, grouped very loosely.

Although I use the word ‘depression’ at some points here, as many of the situations may be familiar to people living with a variety of  conditions, and, indeed, people living with what is apparently the same mental illness may have wildly different experiences, I hope these appalling cartoons will be seen through a broad lens.  (or perhaps preferably with your eyes shut)

I’m also reluctant and cautious, at this point, to put a (public) label on my own experience. Please forgive me for this.

Cloud

maw2

 

maw3

maw5

 

maw15

cartoon3

maw16

Nothing

harm2

 

High and low

 

maw6

maw7

maw8

 

 

Escape

maw9

Drawing (7)

 

 

maw11

maw12

Respite

hearing God say

maw10

journal5

contact2

tea3

 

Thank you. Until next time xx

